Book Review: Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Paige

18053060

Title: Dorothy Must Die
Author: Danielle Paige
Series: Dorothy Must Die #1
Genre: Retellings & Fantasy
Publication Date: April 1st 2014
Publisher: HarperTeen
Source: My grandparents brought it from target
Rating: 5 Stars
Format: Hardcover
Blurb:

I didn’t ask for any of this. I didn’t ask to be some kind of hero.

But when your whole life gets swept up by a tornado – taking you with it – you have no choice but to go along, you know?

Sure, I’ve read the books. I’ve seen the movies. I know the song about the rainbow and the happy little bluebirds. But I never expected Oz to look like this. To be a place where Good Witches can’t be trusted, Wicked Witches may just be the good guys, and winged monkeys can be executed for acts of rebellion. There’s still a yellow brick road – but even that’s crumbling.

What happened? Dorothy.

They say she found a way to come back to Oz. They say she seized power and the power went to her head. And now no one is safe.

My name is Amy Gumm – and I’m the other girl from Kansas.

I’ve been recruited by the Revolutionary Order of the Wicked.

I’ve been trained to fight.

And I have a mission.

Add To:

IMG_1698

Buy Dorothy Must Die here:

Gracie’s Review:

Danielle is such a creative writer. In Dorothy Must Die, Amy wants a way from her boring world where her mom’s a bitch and she alone. She gets swept away in to the lovely world of Oz. But is’s not the lovely lively world we all come to know. Dorothy changed it. So Amy is tasked by the Oder of The Wicked to kill Dorothy. Along the way she makes friends. It’s such an amazing book, and you should really read it. Because it will keep you on your toes.

One thing I love about Dorothy Must Die is that no one would think about Dorothy being this way. Like it changed my whole view on her. Every time I hear her name I cringe, it’s like when you mention he who shale not be named, is named and you get this shiver down your back. Ugh I hate even talking about it. Another thing I love is Amy and Nox, they are just so amazing and I totally ship them. Like they are one of my OTP.

If you want an epic read that will change your life, then Dorothy Must Die is your book.

About the Author:
Danielle lives in NY. Before turning to YA, she worked in television & was nominated for several Daytime Emmy’s. Dorothy Must Die is her first novel.

Author Links:

Leave a Reply

