Book Review: The Murder Complex by Lindsay Cummings

The Murder Complex

Title: The Murder Complex
Author: Lindsay Cummings
Series: The Murder Complex #1
Genre: Dystopia & Science Fiction
Publication Date: June 10th 2014
Publisher: HarperTeen
Source: Brought from Barnes and Noble
Rating: 5 Stars
Format: Hardcover
Blurb:

An action-packed, blood-soaked, futuristic debut thriller set in a world where the murder rate is higher than the birthrate. For fans of Moira Young’s Dust Lands series, La Femme Nikita, and the movie Hanna.

Meadow Woodson, a fifteen-year-old girl who has been trained by her father to fight, to kill, and to survive in any situation, lives with her family on a houseboat in Florida. The state is controlled by The Murder Complex, an organization that tracks the population with precision.

The plot starts to thicken when Meadow meets Zephyr James, who is—although he doesn’t know it—one of the MC’s programmed assassins. Is their meeting a coincidence? Destiny? Or part of a terrifying strategy? And will Zephyr keep Meadow from discovering the haunting truth about her family?

Action-packed, blood-soaked, and chilling, this is a dark and compelling debut novel by Lindsay Cummings.

Add To:

IMG_1698

Buy The Murder Complex here:

Gracie’s Review:
The Murder Complex is as amazing as everyone says it is. I heard about The Murder Complex when it first came out, and I wanted it since then. I would always see it on Instagram and was like I need that book. And I finally got it, and I just finished it. So as I stay up at 1:40 am and write my review while the story is so fresh in my mind with the feels attacking my heart, because the ending just like killed me. I tell you how much I love The Murder Complex.

The Murder Complex is told in two POVs, Meadow and Zephyr. They are brought up in this crazy horrible world and forced to kill to survive. That’s all I’m going to give you about the characters. Because of the title you can infer how badass these characters are!

One thing that drew me to this book is the title. The Murder Complex sounds so mysterious and compelling. Another thing is the cover. I mean c’mon look at it. It’s all red and chilling and the word that are on it.

She’s trained to survive. He’s programmed to kill.

You just catch the feels from that. Also on the cover she looks like she’s covered in blood. The final thing that I will tell that I love about this book because I can go on and on about how much I love this book. Is this quote before you even start reading the book.

Welcome to the Murder Complex. You cannot see us. You cannot feel us. But we are here. And we control your every move.

Creepy right, but amazing at the same time.

I highly recommend The Murder Complex to anyone who loves thriller books. But warring don’t read it in a public place because you will be freaking out, and also have a box of tissues very, very close by because the ending will leave you in tears for the second book.

About the Author:
lINDSAY cUMMINGS
Lindsay Cummings is the 24-year-old author of THE MURDER COMPLEX series from Greenwillow Books/HarperCollins, and the MG trilogy THE BALANCE KEEPERS, from Katherine Tegen Books/HarperCollins.

Lindsay deals with chronic fatigue, can’t get enough of her two pesky German Shepherds, wolf cub, and two horses. She’s still waiting on her letter from Hogwarts–it was probably just lost in the mail.

Author Links:

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Murder Complex by Lindsay Cummings

Leave a Reply

