Summer Reading Challenge: Gone by Michael Grant

gobe

Title: Gone
Author: Michael Grant
Series: Gone #1
Genre: Apocalypse
Publication Date: June 24th 2008
Publisher: HarperTeen
Source: Brought from B&N
Rating: 5 Stars
Format: eBook
Blurb:

The first in New York Times bestselling author Michael Grant’s breathtaking dystopian, sci-fi saga, Gone is a page-turning thriller that invokes the classic The Lord of the Flies along with the horror of Stephen King.

In the blink of an eye, everyone disappears. Gone. Except for the young.

There are teens, but not one single adult. Just as suddenly, there are no phones, no internet, no television. No way to get help. And no way to figure out what’s happened.

Hunger threatens. Bullies rule. A sinister creature lurks. Animals are mutating. And the teens themselves are changing, developing new talents—unimaginable, dangerous, deadly powers—that grow stronger by the day. It’s a terrifying new world. Sides are being chosen, a fight is shaping up. Townies against rich kids. Bullies against the weak. Powerful against powerless. And time is running out: On your birthday, you disappear just like everyone else…

Michael Grant’s Gone as been praised for its compelling storytelling, multidimensional characters, and multiple points of view.

Add To:

IMG_1698

Buy Gone here:

Shani’s Review:

Gone, written by Micheal Grant, was phenomenal. The story follows Sam Temple as he tries to make it through a world where everyone over fifteen disappears. Set in Perido Beach, an area practically soaking in radiation, kids start to find out their powers and start growing up pretty fast. Then the rival school , Coates Academy shows up and soon after, things go crazy. No one has an explanation for anything. While reading, I thought the events were crazy enough, but the deeper i got into the book, I found that each event was crazier than the last….and I loved it ! It turns into a war between power hungry bullies and Sam with his friends and those who believe that he’s doing the right thing. Same ends up taking on roles and figuring out the way to avoid being zapped out on his fifteen birthday.

About the Author:

Okay, trying this again. Goodreads lost the bio I just spent 30 minutes writing. So now it’s just going to be incoherent rambling. Yes, the earlier draft was also incoherent rambling, but way better.

I’m the co-author or author of about 160 books, including the ANIMORPHS series, the GONE series, the BZRK series, the MAGNIFICENT 12 series (Mommy, make him stop saying series!), the MESSENGER OF FEAR series, and soon (well, eventually) the SOLDIER GIRL series.

The best way to reach me is at Twitter @MichaelGrantBks. I’ll be honest: I keep forgetting there’s mail here. Here’s the thing: I don’t have an assistant or a staff. I would, but then I’d have to hire someone and train someone and give them stuff to do, and relate to them as a human being, possibly even care about them. I’m exhausted just thinking about it.

But if my handle is in the Tweet, I read it. And once or twice a week I go on at random times to chat with fans. I love my fans, but it’s either be honest with you and be my actual self on Twitter, or fob you off on some assistant, and how would that be better? I already have my father-in-law handling email from my ancient website. I’d rather be harder to write to but really be me, and really talk to you, if that makes sense.

Honestly, if it was up to me and I had the time we could all just hang out at random Starbucks. Or if you’re over 21, a pleasant cocktail lounge perhaps. At some point there would be ice cream. There must always, at some point in the day, be ice cream.

Author Links:

mg

Leave a Reply

