This Twist on Cinderella: The Ugly Stepsister by Aya Ling

ugly stepsister

Title: The Ugly Stepsister
Author: Aya Ling
Series: Stand Alone
Genre: Retellings
Publication Date: Self Published
Publisher: June 12th, 2015
Source: Netgalley
Rating: 5 Stars
Format: eBook
Blurb:

When Kat accidentally rips apart an old picture book, she’s magically transported into the world of Cinderella–as Katriona, one of the ugly stepsisters! Life turns upside down now that she’s a highborn lady and must learn how to survive the social season, including how to get through the door in a huge metal hoop skirt. To get back, she’ll have to complete the story, right to the end of happily ever after. But the odds are huge: the other stepsister is drop-dead gorgeous, the fairy godmother is nowhere to be found, and the prince, despite being insanely hot, openly dislikes balls. Can she ever return to the modern world?

Add To:

IMG_1698

Buy The Ugly Stepsister here:

Gracie’s Review:

I never read a Cinderella Retelling and I’m glad that The Ugly Stepsister was the first one that I read. It was so different and refreshing read and it was so creative. There are some factors that I didn’t like in this book that can be overlooked by its perfections. Like how Kat keeps bring up looks, like I know a lot of girls have insecurity issues including me and I’m working on it. And I believe that beauty doesn’t matter it’s what inside that counts. But besides that the book was amazing, I love how witty and sarcastic Kat is. Another thing I love about Kat is that when she feels passionate about something, nothing can stop her, she’s a spitfire.

As amazing this world is I wouldn’t be able to live in this world, with all the child labor and no women’s rights thing. It’s like 5 steps back for women rights, and I’ll be speaking up a lot. Also the book ended the way I knew it was going to end, sometimes when I read books I feel physic when I read books. If you want a creative retelling on a Cinderella story this book is for you.

About the Author:
Aya Ling
Aya is from Taiwan, where she struggles daily to contain her obsession with mouthwatering and unhealthy foods. Often she will devour a good book instead. Her favorite books include martial arts romances, fairy tale retellings, high fantasy, cozy mysteries, and manga.

Author Links:

Leave a Reply

