The Most Realistic Alien Apocalypse Ever The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

the fifth wave

Title:The 5th Wave
Author: Rick Yancey
Series: The 5th Wave #1
Genre: Post Apocalyptic
Publication Date: May 7th 2013
Publisher: Penguin Teen
Source: Brought at Target
Rating: 5 Stars
Format: Paperback
Blurb:

After the 1st wave, only darkness remains. After the 2nd, only the lucky escape. And after the 3rd, only the unlucky survive. After the 4th wave, only one rule applies: trust no one.

Now, it’s the dawn of the 5th wave, and on a lonely stretch of highway, Cassie runs from Them. The beings who only look human, who roam the countryside killing anyone they see. Who have scattered Earth’s last survivors. To stay alone is to stay alive, Cassie believes, until she meets Evan Walker.

Beguiling and mysterious, Evan Walker may be Cassie’s only hope for rescuing her brother—or even saving herself. But Cassie must choose: between trust and despair, between defiance and surrender, between life and death. To give up or to get up.

Add To:

IMG_1698

Buy The 5th Wave here:

Gracie Review:

The 5th Wave was, is, and always will be amazing. It will now be added to my list of books that I can’t live without (maybe I should do a post about that). From the beginning to the end Rick Yancey grabbed my attention. I was in a big reading stump where I couldn’t finish a whole book; he snapped me right out of that. I love everything about this book except one thing. When Rick switches POV throughout the book (which was a nice surprise for me; I found it very refreshing) I would get confused until I was passed the first page of the chapters. Besides that the book is amazing:)!

Speaking of chapters, I love how the chapters in this book is formatted. I never seen a book quite like this. In the book you won’t find the next chapter on the next page when the last chapter ends, you will find it on the same page. What I also find awesome about the formatting of the book is the different title parts in the book. I find the titles to be creative and I think this goes back to how there’s no POV names when it switches. As you move on in the book you realize the title parts are something you learn about the charter.

Let’s talk about the characters. I love Cassie, like I really do. She is such a strong female character and determined. She is determined to keep what little family she has left and won’t let anything get in her way. And I just love that about her. Evan is sexy, amazing, and everything I want in a boyfriend. Can I just go in the book and just keep him for me? I don’t think that’s so much to ask.

From when you pick it up, you will not be able to put The 5th Wave down at all. It will leave you gasping for more and the ending is like wow. Its realistic, like if we ever had an alien apocalypse it would be like this. I can’t wait to watch the movie and you guys need to read the book before you see the movie. I highly recommend The 5th Wave for anyone who wants an amazingly awesome read.

About the Author:
Rick Yancey Rick is a native Floridian and a graduate of Roosevelt University in Chicago. He earned a B.A. in English which he put to use as a field officer for the Internal Revenue Service. Inspired and encouraged by his wife, he decided his degree might also be useful in writing books and in 2004 he began writing full-time.

Since then he has launched two critically acclaimed series: The Extraordinary Adventures of Alfred Kropp, for young readers, and The Highly Effective Detective, for adults. Both books are set in Knoxville, Tennessee, where Rick lived for ten years before returning to Florida.

Author Links:

3 thoughts on “The Most Realistic Alien Apocalypse Ever The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

Leave a Reply

